TABLE OF CONTENTS
- Creating a new User
- Basic Details
- Access Permissions
- Regional Settings & Advanced Options
- Assigned Folders
- Group Memberships
When you click the “Users & Groups” link from the "Admin" left navigation menu on the dashboard, you will be taken to the User list page. This shows all Users that are currently active. You can sort the Users and also filter using the Search box. By default, any Inactive Users will not show, but you can display these by checking the Show Inactive box.
To create a new user, click "ADD NEW" in the upper-right corner of the page. After creating a new User, you will enter the Edit User page; you can also enter this page for existing Users by rolling over the rows in the User list page and clicking the “edit user” option. In the top-right of the page you will see a Send Invite and a Delete button. The Send Invite button lets you resend the invitation email to the user’s email address; it will only be visible if the user has been created but has not yet signed into the app.
Once a User logs in for the first time, their status changes to Active, and the Delete button is joined by a Deactivate button. Clicking the Deactivate button will change the User’s status to Inactive. This status means that all Screens, Docs and Tasks will be removed from the User’s installations of the mobile app. Inactive Users can be reactivated using the Reactivate button (which only shows when a User has an Inactive status). The Delete button, meanwhile, lets you delete the user entirely.
Creating a new User
- Enter a first name and last name for the person.
- Enter an email address for the User.
This needs to be a valid email address that the user can access.
On the right you will see status information and a list of the devices used by the User to log into the app. The OS and App details in the Devices section should be accurate based on the information seen when the user last logged into the app. If, however, this information is inaccurate, the user should sign out of the app and then sign in again. If the information is still inaccurate after this step, the row can be deleted via the "x" at the far-right of the row. Then once the user signs back in, the information should appear accurately.
Here the user's User Type, Email address and name fields can be edited. The email address is the email address with which the user will log into the app.
Select the "User Can Access Website" option if you want the user to have access to the web portal. Leave this unchecked if the user is only intended to use the mobile app. If "User Can Access Website" is selected, specify what permissions he/she may have and grant access to the areas he/she is allowed to access.
Regional Settings & Advanced Options
Here you can select the user's country, time zone, External ID, Color Code and Metadata.
External Id is an optional field that lets you enter an identifier for the person from your other systems – e.g. your payroll or human resources system. The External Id can be included when exporting data that the User has been involved in, such as Form entries.
The time zone chosen will affect the time values as shown on the dashboard only -- e.g., looking at the date/time that an entry was submitted (see below). This does not affect the values captured in form entries; these values are determined by the local time of the device used.
The Color Code will be used to represent the user for easier visualization on the dashboard and will be seen on mapping screens, like Users Map, as well as the Task Calendar view (see images below).
Add additional information about a user by specifying key/value pairs. These values can be accessed across the platform by using the USERMETA('key') formula function.
For an hourly employee, you might use the following:
Key: Pay Type
For a salaried employee, you might use the following:
Key: Pay Type
USERMETA('Pay Type') will return either 'Salary' or 'Hourly' depending upon what is associated with that user.
Here you can assign folder permissions to the user. You can read more about folders in these articles.
Here you can assign group memberships to the user. You can read more about user groups in this article.